Rally for the Right to Read: Voters Unite Against Book Bans

Friday, June 28, 2024
Reception: 7:00PM―8:00PM PT
Program: 8:00PM―9:00PM PT

Image: Hanif Abdurraqib with Unite Against Book Bans logo

The Rally for the Right to Read: Voters Unite Against Book Bans will highlight anti-censorship activities from around the nation and celebrate the 2024 recipients of ALA’s signature intellectual freedom awards.

Nationally renowned writer, cultural critic and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient Hanif Abdurraqib will deliver the keynote address. Abdurraqib is an award-winning poet, essayist and cultural critic from Columbus, Ohio, and the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation Genius grant. His most recent book, "There’s Always This Year," was an instant New York Times, USA Today and Indie Next bestseller. "A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance" was a National Book Award Finalist and the winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction. His other acclaimed works include "They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us" and "Go Ahead in the Rain: Notes to A Tribe Called Quest."

The Rally for the Right to Read will also recognize the 2024 recipients of the Freedom to Read Foundation's Roll of Honor Award, the Eli M. Oboler Award, the John Phillip Immroth Award and the Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations Award. The reception will begin at 7:00PM with light hors d’oeuvres and a cash bar. The program will immediately follow at 8:00PM. All ALA Annual Conference attendees are invited to attend; conference badges are required. Admission is free, and donations to the Unite Against Book Bans campaign are encouraged.

Please join us for an inspiring evening dedicated to celebrating the essential work of librarians in defending the freedom to read. ALA and Unite Against Book Bans gratefully acknowledge Premier Sponsors of this year's event, HarperCollins and Penguin Random House.


Image: Harper Collins


Penguin Random House Image